A Symbol of Prestige

11/30/2010

As far as telling time goes, your $35 Timex does just as well as a $4,000,000 Patek Phillippe. Like expensive cars, however, expensive watches have long been a symbol of prestige; and those who could afford them, would. The rest of us would just have to settle for "wearing" them through augmented reality.

Girard-Perregaux is letting consumers "try on" its products using augmented reality in its new iPhone app. Eight men’s watches from four of GP’s collections, including their famous Tourbillon with Three Gold Bridges, and one women’s watch are displayed in the app. Users can "try on" each of them, one at a time, by holding their wrist in front of the camera to see the watch superimposed on it. The size and placement of the watch can be adjusted manually for a better idea of how it would actually look on one’s wrist.

Unfortunately, I have no access to an iPhone so I cannot comment on the app’s augmented reality feature. However, I have used the app with an iPad and have enjoyed reading the detailed information on the Girard-Perregaux brand and its history. A silly jackpot game also comes with the app, though I think it serves no purpose other than to cheapen the app and the brand.

Finally, a store locator is available to let users choose retailers either from a list of locations or based on proximity. On the list, retailers are grouped by cities, and it is useless to me. I am writing from the dead center of Pennsylvania, and the only city I recognize on the list is Philadelphia, which is a good three hours away! Thankfully, the app is integrated with Google Maps, and using my GPS location reveals a retailer that is much closer to me. Either way, once I know which retailer I want to visit, the app gives me a set of driving, transit or walking directions.

It seems the marketing team at GP has put some thought into creating a unique and sophisticated experience that connects consumers with the brand. Well, iPhone-toting consumers anyway. Apparently they are not interested in reaching out to all the business people carrying Blackberries as well as the iPhone-agnostic masses.

I wish global brand marketers would see that there is more to the smartphone market than just the iPhone.  >.<

One Response to “A Symbol of Prestige”

  1. Kelly McIvor Says:

    Would have been cool to see the AR in action! I have a hard time, however, seeing how these sorts of apps are much more than an advertisement. I have to believe that once a person tries the app they will delete it or it will sit on their phone never to be used again. And with the cost of apps starting at $15-20k I struggle to understand how they are justified..


Leave a Reply

